Regions of Kansas

View Map

The Regions of Kansas

The state of Kansas has eleven distinct geological areas. In the eastern part of the state, wooded hills dominate both the glaciated hills of northeast Kansas and the Ozarks of extreme southeast Kansas. The Cherokee Lowlands, which surround the Ozark plateau of southeast Kansas tend to be flatter. Moving west, both the Flint Hills and Chautauqua Hills bring back gently rolling hills. The Flint Hills, probably the most famous of Kansas' scenery, are defined largely by the tallgrass and is one of the largest areas of native prairie grasslands left in the country. The Arkansas River Lowlands are marked by lots of sand dunes as it carves it's way through western and central Kansas.

Wetlands dominate some area's of central Kansas where both Cheyenne Bottoms and Quivira National Wildlife Refuge are teeming with birds at almost any time of the year! The Smoky Hills dominate north central Kansas and parts of western Kansas with beautiful rock formations, including Monument Rocks and Mushroom Rock. The high plains domination the rest of western Kansas by gentle rolling hills or flatlands, though some remarkable scenery go against the grain of thought that Kansas is flatter than a pancake. The Arikaree Breaks in extreme northwest Kansas and Cimarron National Grassland in the corner of southwest Kansas run contrary to that notion. I invite you to explore the different regions that Kansas has to offer!

Must See!

The Flint Hills

Kansas' iconic rolling hills are one of our biggest tourist attractions!

Visit Now
Must See!

Northeast Kansas

City life and country charm define beautiful northeast Kansas!

Visit Now
Must See!

Southeast Kansas

Waterfalls and amazing scenery abound in natural southeast Kansas!

Visit Now

Map Icons

  • - Waterfall
  • - Trail
  • - Scenic Drive
  • - Park
  • - Landmark